What Is … Arthur’s At It Again?


A few thoughts while ruminating on the (remastered) Behind the Music: Deep Purple that I enjoyed way too much last night. Sad but true: It was only the second or third largest time waster I engaged in over the weekend. But I digress …

You might know, if you know me, that I’m a big fan of Jeopardy! If the categories are right, I usually beat the freaks and nerds that go on the show. What does that say about me? You be the judge. A bit more about my fascination with Jeopardy!:

A game within a game (with apologies to Hamlet)

I’ve written before, Karen and I play a game within a game while watching Jeopardy! We call it Ultimate Jeopardy! You basically wait until it’s time for Final Jeopardy! They unveil the category and then go to commercial. During this time, Karen and I – and occasionally Garrett – will try to guess the question before Alex reveals the answer. Every once in a while, we’ll get it right.

I recently expanded it to the Daily Double questions and won. The category was Graphic Novels, and I guessed Alan Moore (Watchmen). Major score! Those dweebs actually playing have no chance against me.

To be, or to be

I recently asked a semi-rhetorical question on Facebook. Should I audition for Jeopardy or The Voice. I was kinda crushed by the responses.

It wasn’t that I was offended by the people saying I should go on Jeopardy! After all, they were voicing – you see what I did there – their confidence that I’m intelligent. It was just that I was offended by the people saying I should go on Jeopardy! who HAVE ACTUALLY HEARD ME SING.

They should know better …

The Canadian Ringers

I know, sounds like a pretty decent band name, doesn’t it? Actually, it’s a theory I have about the show. It has been well established that Alex Trebek is Canadian. That’s why it’s a pretty good strategy to study your provinces and rivers there before you go on – Canada categories seem to pop up more often than would normally be required.

(Alex supposedly is retiring in 2016. Speculation is that Matt Lauer will replace him. Ugghh! Can’t we get someone who can fake being smart?)

Anyway, the Canadian Ringers are the pool of contestants that the producers summon when there’s a boring champion who keeps winning. The next night, they will introduce someone who’s a bait farmer from Saskatoon.

Karen and I have seen it time and time again. The Canadian, who obviously has been primed with the answer before the show, will defeat the champion in a one-off appearance. By that, I mean the Canadian ringer will inexplicably lose to a lesser contestant the next night. His or her sole function is to get rid of the boring champion.

I’m totally serious about this.

Just watch the next time they bring on a Canadian challenger. I’ll bet you find that I’m right. In fact, I’ll make it a true Daily Double, Art.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What Is … Arthur’s At It Again?

  1. Pingback: What Is … Arthur’s At It Again? | Rants 'n Raves

Leave a Reply

