What I Thought of Limitless


Now Playing: 1968, by Dave Alvin. “And tonight in this barroom he’s easin’ his pain. He’s thinking of someone, but he won’t say the name. Folks say he’s a hero, but he’ll tell you he ain’t. He left a hero in the jungle back in 1968.”

Karen and I decided last week we’d go to the movies Saturday night. No particular reason, we just wanted to get out. Not even a particular movie we were interested in.

We’d talked a little about Unknown: She likes Liam Neeson, I like January Jones (can’t wait to see her as Emma Frost in the new X-Men movie, given Emma’s disdain for clothing in general). We also talked about The Adjustment Bureau: She likes John Slattery, I like Matt Damon, and the ads for it seemed like a pretty good sci-fi yarn.

Anyway, while I was looking up times and places Saturday morning, K read the review in the Charlotte O’s entertainment section from the day before for Limitless. She seemed kinda interested, and I know she likes Bradley Cooper. So we decided to go to that. I didn’t care, I just wanted to go out together. I thought it would good enough, anyway.

Well, turns out I was wrong. I liked it  a lot.

It’s about this guy (Cooper) with writer’s block, who is on a downward spiral. He runs into his ex-wife’s brother one day, who gives him a pill that enables him to access 100% of his brain rather than the 20% we generally use (and yes, I know this whole 20% of your brain thing has been debunked).

Anyway, he finds himself able to do astounding things now that he notices and remembers everything. And it ends up being a pretty darn good story. There’s one instance where the brain-enhanced Cooper didn’t catch onto something as quickly as I did, but, hey, everybody can’t be Eddie Spaghetti – my new name, BTW.

And there was a damn good twist to it all that I won’t even begin to spoil.

I highly recommend it.

I also highly recommend seeing it at Stonecrest in South Charlotte. Because then, like K and I, you can walk over to Cantina 1511 after the show for a bite to eat. In my case, more than one bite. It’s fast becoming one of my favorite places to eat locally. They treat you like a king, even when you come in fairly late. And the food is fantastic.

Karen got ceviche, which I tasted, and boy it was good. And a small salad, which wasn’t small. And a flight of margaritas (the blood-orange one was the best).

I got Tacos Marco Polo, made of seasoned shrimp, jalapeno bacon, rajas (caramelized chiles and onions), with melted cheese, pico de gallo, etc. It was fantastic.

All in all, a great night!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

