What I Did Yesterday


Now Playing: The Rain Song, by Led Zeppelin. “It is the springtime of my loving – the second season I am to know. You are the sunlight in my growing – so little warmth I’ve felt before. It isn’t hard to feel me glowing – I watched the fire that grew so low.”

“What did you do yesterday?” my lovely wife asked me this morning when she read the teaser for this post on Facebook.

Which probably tells you that she doesn’t get this free-lance thing I’ve been doing. Turns out I wrote a 1,000-word story on a flower/gift shop in Clover, S.C. – don’t ask – and edited a story about economic development in Fayetteville and tried to talk to a couple of the top lawyers in the state and talked to a technical-writer recruiting company and reassured an editor about another story and took my sweetie’s dress to the alterations shop. But none of those are what I plan to write about.

I also didn’t do something, for the first time in three days. That was go to the Verizon store in Matthews. And yes, I know there are closer Verizon stores in both Indian Trail/Stallings and Monroe. But I like the one in Matthews. For that matter, I like Verizon as a carrier. The service is pretty good, usually available – as long as you’re not in a Target – and the prices aren’t too bad. I’m still waiting on our refund for the phony data charges – turns out the boys were telling the truth about not using data services. But I really didn’t have too many complaints about the company.

You can tell there’s a but coming, can’t you? And here it is.

After much soul-searching and thought (believe it or not), we agreed to let Austin replace his old decrepit phone Sunday. With a Droid X. It’ll be the lion’s share of his Christmas this year, and he’s going to start paying for his data plan when he gets a job.

Anyway, at halftime of the Panthers game Sunday – I’ve vowed not to let the Panthers run my life the rest of this football season – I took him and Garrett to the Verizon store to do the deed. Everything was going smoothly, we got the deal we expected and we didn’t have to wait too long to do it. End of story, right?

Uh, no. The first time Austin turned the Droid off, it wouldn’t turn back on. He took the battery out and put it back in. No go. He called the store. They told him to take the battery out and put it back in. No go. They told him to bring it back, and they’d replace it.  So we did. Only they didn’t. The sales guy, Jim, took it in the back, took the battery out and turned it back on. It worked this time. He said they just need to be reset sometimes. End of story, right?

Uh, no. Later that night, Austin turned the Droid off again. It wouldn’t turn back on. He took the battery out and put it back in. No go. Lather, rinse and repeat. No go. After about six times, it came back up. With the date set to Dec. 31, 1969. Not surprisingly, it had no service. He kept trying and finally got it back on. He didn’t turn it off again that night. I told him we’d take it back again Monday.

We did, and the really nice greeter, who recognized us from the two trips Sunday, steered us to a repair person. We told her our problem – I’m not sure she listened – and she took it in the back. We’re pretty sure she took the battery out and put it back in. A few minutes later, she came back and said she’d restored the defaults and that it should work now. End of story, right?

Uh, no. When we got to the car, Austin shut it down. It didn’t come back on. He couldn’t believe it. He couldn’t go back in. But I could. To her credit, the really nice greeter met me at the door and said, I’m going to get our Droid expert. He took it in the back. But when he came back in, he said he’d never seen our problem before and told me he’d switch it out for a new one. Which he did. He even gave us a new screen protector.

When we got back to the car, we turned it off. It powered back up. End of story, right?

So far. Stay tuned.

But I told Karen Tuesday morning that I didn’t care what happened that day, I wasn’t going back to the Verizon store. And I didn’t. (The Droid, by the way, is way cool. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want one. I’d also be lying if I said I needed one. Not that Austin did, for that matter.)

So that’s what I didn’t do yesterday. What did I do? I early voted.

But as hard as I looked for Nancy Pelosi, I couldn’t find her on my ballot. Despite all the stupid Republican TV ads.

This has been the worst election ad campaign I can ever remember. The Republican ads are dumb. They’re running against Nancy Pelosi, the stimulus (as if the country would be better off if the banks collapsed and even more jobs disappeared), health-care reform (as if the existing system was/is sustainable). The Democrats ads are reprehensible, too. Whenever Democrats think they might be in trouble, they haul out the Social Security scare ads to rile up the old people. That’s what they’re doing this year.

Why? The real issue this year is the economy. And the truth is, neither side has a clue how to make it better. My opinion, Adam Smith’s invisible hand will correct it sooner or later.

Not the dolts and nitwits that are on the ballot this year. I held my nose and voted for Elaine Marshall in the Senate race. Certainly not because I like her.

I couldn’t even bring myself to vote in my congressional race. Much as I dislike Sue “There’s a Muslim Terrorist in Every Shadow” Myrick, I couldn’t vote for the Democrat, Jeff Doctor, who had never voted until this spring.

I voted for prohibiting felons from running for sheriff even though it’s a stupid notion – I give people enough credit not to elect criminals (even though they did elect Richard Nixon twice). I voted against expanding the Union County Board of Commissioners from five to seven members. It’s hard enough to find five who won’t do something stupid. I might vote for the expansion if they’d guarantee the two new ones couldn’t be from here.

So that’s what I did yesterday.

Let’s see what today holds.

“Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The important thing is not to stop questioning.” – Albert Einstein

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

