Odds and Ends


Now Playing: This is Us, by Mark Knopfler and EmmyLou Harris. Seems appropriate given today’s blog subject material: “This is us down at the Mardi Gras, This is us In your Daddy’s Car, You and the missing link, Yeah, I’d had a little too much to drink,now, Too long in the sun, Having too much fun, You and me and our memories, This is us.”

I’m doing something odd for me this weekend. I’m going to the reunion of the Halifax County High School Class of 1975, my graduating class.

Doesn’t seem so odd, you say? Well, it is for me.

I’m pretty sure I haven’t seen anyone who’ll be there since 1977, which was the last summer I spent in South Boston, Va. The next year I stayed in Chapel Hill for the summer. After I graduated from the University of the People in 1979, I spent about a month in SoBo while I found a job. Since then, I’ve spent the occasional long weekend, sometimes maybe a day or two longer there. Those short trips were devoted to family – I never saw any of the old gang during them and rarely left the house.

Late last year, I got on Facebook, and I started reconnecting with some of my high school friends. It was really good to hear from them, look at where they’d been and what they were doing and how they’d changed.

So when the invite came for the reunion, I talked about it with Karen and we decided to take the plunge.

It’s Saturday night. I can’t truthfully say I recognize every name on the list of people who are coming. But then if you knew me in high school, you wouldn’t be too surprised at that. I remember none of my senior prom, for example (which might be for the best). Too drunk to even get photos taken, though I somehow escaped the attention of teachers who busted a bunch of my friends there. (Or maybe not. At least two teachers teased me later about it – so they knew but let me slide. That wasn’t unusual, either.)

But there are a lot of folks I’m really excited about seeing. And I’m excited about something else.

You know I love my wife, Karen. She’s a lot of things I’m not – charming, outgoing, at ease with people. She never met a stranger. Well, she’ll meet a bunch of ’em Saturday night. And she’s a little nervous. (The more normal course for us is to go somewhere where she knows people and I don’t.) So it’ll be interesting to see how she adapts. She needn’t worry. She’ll know ’em all in no time, probably better than I do.

Sadly, there are a lot of folks I’d love to see who won’t be there. I heard that one friend since elementary school had died, I’m sure there have been others. Neither of my two best friends from high school, Tommy and Howard, are coming. I think Tommy moved back to SoBo recently. I may try to look him up if I have a spare minute. My best friend growing up, Mike, also won’t be there. I think he lives in Norfolk now, but we’d drifted apart some even in high school.

How will it go? I don’t know. I’m even getting a little nervous as the day draws near. Will anybody remember me? Or care that I’m there?

So the fact that I’m going is the Odd. Next week I’ll tell you how it Ends.

“Maybe one day I can have a reunion with myself.” _ Sebastian Bach

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Odds and Ends

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Odds and Ends « Rants 'n Raves -- Topsy.com

  2. Can’t wait to hear more! My 30th was a few weeks back (of course I blogged about it, too) and I’d love to compare. Reunions, I think, are a good thing — in ways expected and surprising.

Leave a Reply

