Did I Do The Wrong Thing?


Now Playing: Season of the Witch, by Donovan. “When I look over my shoulder, What do you think I see? Some other cat, Looking over his shoulder at me?”

That was my question this weekend after my family’s first use of Craigslist. Yeah, I’m the last person on the planet to use it. You know what? I don’t care.

But I do care about doing the right thing. I really try to do that. And by that I don’t mean follow convention. I mean really do the right thing.

Anyway, we wanted to sell the old bunk bed set the kids used when they were in the same room. It was big and bulky and a pain in the ass to take down, which we did about a month ago when Austin moved into his own room, which meant Garrett also had a room of his own. I’d stored everything but the mattresses in the garage and I wanted badly to get rid of it. At about 3:30 Saturday, Karen put it up on Craigslist for $200. We figured it might take a month or so to sell.

Wrong. Within 15 minutes, I got a call from a woman in Concord. She wanted to come “look” at it that night. I asked when, she finally said 5:30, and I gave her directions. While I was on that call, another clicked in on my phone, but I ignored it (as I always do – I’d never put off someone I was talking to for another call). Immediately after I hung up, Isabel called again. She wanted to see it and would come at 4:30. I texted her my address and got ready for them to come.

A little after 4:30, Isabel, her husband and child (who might have been named Arturo, which needless to say endeared them to me) showed up. I showed them the bed and showed them a crack in one of the supports – it happened about a month after we bought the unit, about nine years ago; I fixed it and it has held up since with no effort, but I wanted them to know about it). They offered me $30 less. I took it. Arturo wanted to sleep on the top bunk.

We loaded up – it took a few minutes and they were gone by 5 p.m., when I called the first caller. She was mad, they were on the way (it’s no more than 45 minutes here from any point in Concord, so they couldn’t have gone too far). The next day, I got a mean e-mail from her telling me I was a bad person and wishing bad karma on me.

Well, if you follow this blog, you know that the one thing I do believe in is karma. So now I’m worried.

And confused. Did I do the Wrong Thing? Should I have held off caller 2 until caller 1 came and looked at it? Or was it OK to take the money in hand versus the money I might not have gotten? I’m a novice to selling stuff online. I truly don’t know.

So whaddaya think?

“Art is making something out of nothing and selling it.” _ Frank Zappa

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Did I Do The Wrong Thing?

  1. Pingback: Who Are You? … And Other Stuff « Rants 'n Raves

Leave a Reply

