Now Starring …


Now Playing: Almost Cut My Hair, written by David Crosby and performed by Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young. “Must be because I had the flu for Christmas, And I’m not feeling up to par. It increases my paranoia, like looking at my window and seeing a it up police car. But I’m not giving in an inch to fear, I promised myself this year, I feel like I owe it to someone.”

Back in the day, a young journalist, 23, and one of his best friends, 24, fell into the jobs of running a newspaper on the North Carolina coast. One of them, the younger, was me. Elliott and I had a pretty free hand with The Daily News. And we tried a lot of stuff. Some worked, some didn’t, but I’m confident I left the paper (Elliott never did, he’s publisher now) better than I found it.

Anyway, one of the things we tried was a long Sunday feature on who would play various Jacksonville leaders in the movie about them. We were sort of inspired by our friend (and the newspaper’s sports editor at the time), Robert Holland, who most definitely would have been played by John Denver. Anyway, we asked the people, and it ended up being pretty interesting who these folks thought would get them right on the big screen.

I thought of it this morning when I opened The Charlotte Observer and saw a big honking photo of Bank of America CEO . I’ve long thought that Moynihan’s biopic would star, in his first – and probably only – dramatic role, Conan O’Brien. (If I did it right, there’s Moynihan over to the right of this paragraph.) But I may have changed my mind this morning. I kinda think Quentin Tarantino could pull it off. Must be the high forehead.

Interlude: Just What I Needed, The Cars.  “I don’t mind you hanging out, and talking in your sleep. Doesn’t matter where you’ve been, as long as it was deep, yeah. You always knew to wear it well. You look so fancy, I can tell. I don’t mind you hanging out, and talking in your sleep.”

Anyway, I quickly thought of a couple more (and again, I’ll try to post images, in case you don’t know what they look like).

Reynolds America (what used to be R.J. Reynolds Tobacco) CEO Susan Ivey would be played by Christine Lahti. And if you’ve seen Lahti on Law & Order SVU you know why I think she’d be good in the role.

Duke Energy CEO Jim Rogers (who is the cover story in the May issue of Business North Carolina magazine, my old employer) would be played by a young Harvey Korman, in his greatest movie part since Hedley Lamarr in Blazing Saddles.

President Obama would be played by the young Joe Morton, the guy who played the scientist in Terminator 2: Judgment Day, the one who invented Skynet, which inadvertently caused the rise of the Machines. (And I swear I’m not making a political statement – I like Obama and respect the job he’s done under the circumstances.) He was also in The Brother from Another Planet (and it wasn’t Kenya – for all you Fox News Fans).

You see how it goes.

Which brings me, as it usually does, to me.

Who would play the lead in The Arthur O. Murray Story?

Three possibilities come to mind:

One would be Robert Downey Jr. I absolutely love him in everything, and I think he could capture my irreverence perfectly. But he’s on the short side and while I’m short, too, I’d want to be played by someone taller. (Don’t forget – I’m the casting director of this film – I call it a film because that’s what Serious Movie Fans call a movie.)

So maybe the young Bob Mitchum. He’s got the rugged physique, sleepy-eyed, world-weary look. “Build my gallows high, baby.”

But I think there’s really one obvious choice. He looks like me, I generally like his movies and he could capture my essence perfectly. He’s even got some gray hair and wrinkles. Yep, it has to be George Clooney.

“Life ain’t nothing but a blending up of all the ups and downs; Dammit Elvis, don’t you know; You made your Mama so proud; Before you ever made that record, before there ever was a Sun; Before you ever lost that Cadillac that Carl Perkins won.” _ Drive-By Truckers, Carl Perkins’ Cadillac

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Now Starring …

  1. JSP

    I might have to do some digging to find those old Sunday features. I’m intrigued.

  2. I can’t even remember exactly when it was. But one county commissioner said he would played by Martin Sheen. I think we had his photo.

Leave a Reply

