Beauty is Skin Deep, Stupid Cuts to the Bone


Now Playing: Lodi, by Credence. “The man from the magazine said I was on my way. Somewhere I lost connections, ran out of songs to play. I came into town, a one night stand, Looks like my plans fell through. Oh ! Lord, Stuck in Lodi again.”

This I do swear: The following blog has nothing to do with my loathing of dook basketball (or any of the university’s other sports – do they field any other teams?). I have much respect for many parts of the university, including its fine hospital. That’s where my Dad received cancer care, which was ultimately unsuccessful, but they did the best damn job they could and treated him kindly and with great respect for his wishes. The outcome was much better for son Garrett, who went there as an infant because of a horrible virus that left him severely dehydrated before we could blink. They fixed him, and again, the folks there couldn’t have been nicer.

But as I was looking today through Business North Carolina‘s Daily Digest (a roundup of all the state’s best business and government articles), I saw what may have been the stupidest thing that ever passed for academic research.

Three finance professors there conducted a study and published a paper, “A Corporate Beauty Contest.” As near as I can tell from the News & Observer story describing it, it concluded that the profs found that good-looking CEOs have their performance judged differently than average or ugly ones. OK, sounds a little interesting so far. And I admit, we good-looking folks do tend to get a few breaks along the way (ducking as Karen throws something at me) …

Interlude: Rag and Bone, White Stripes. “You sure you don’t want it? Take it. They’re just things you don’t want. I can use ’em. Meg can use ’em. We can do something with ’em. We’ll make something out of ’em. Make some money out of ’em at least.”

But as I continued reading, it seems that the gist of the study was showing pairs of corporate-type photos to participants and asking which person was more competent, trustworthy, likable and attractive. In other words, the study asked participants to judge the people on looks and then found that respondents judged people on looks. (Or at least that’s what the story said.)

This is research?

Regular readers – I tell myself there are some – know that one of my goals in life is to establish a think tank, The Institute for Frivolous Thought (IF). But I think these guys may have beaten me out, especially if they got paid for these stunning revelations.

And you know what. I still don’t give a damn about Duke University.

“Beauty is truth, truth beauty,” – that is all
Ye know on earth, and all ye need to know.”

– John Keats, Ode on a Grecian Urn

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Beauty is Skin Deep, Stupid Cuts to the Bone

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Beauty is Skin Deep, Stupid Cuts to the Bone « Rants 'n Raves -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

