You Can Have the Good Old Days


Now Playing: “Carolina Morning,” Micky and the Motorcars.
“I’ve had Carolina mornings and California nights; Good times and places in between; I’m bound to be alright; But it feels so good that it’s understood; I’ll show up without a warning; And I’ll love you on a Carolina morning.”

It occurred to me after I posted yesterday that I’ve been griping in Rants ‘n Raves lately about how much better professional wrestling and concerts used to be “back in the day.” Not that it wasn’t true, mind you. But the last thing I want to do is turn into one of those grumpy old guys who thinks everything was better when he was growing up.

Because believe me – I don’t want to go back to the old days and ways.

I don’t want a world where people were judged by the color of their skin or their gender or their sexuality. No thanks.

I don’t want a world where leaders of the major countries keep a finger on the button. Mutual Assured Destruction. Madness indeed.

I don’t want a television that only picks up three channels, four if you could get PBS. I was lucky in southern Va. In addition to the Roanoke and Lynchburg stations, we could pick up channels in Greensboro, Raleigh and Durham – and if the weather was right, in High Point and Winston. Not that they didn’t all show the same stuff, but at least if Billy Graham was on one channel, there was sometimes an alternative. For all its many faults, I’ll take cable – home of favorites such as Mythbusters, Top Chef, Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives, and on and on and on – every time.

I don’t want to go back to AM radio, with its strict top 40 playlists. Not that over the air radio is anything special these days. Then there’s the insipid talk radio, left or right, news or sports, it doesn’t matter, most of it is garbage. But satellite radio RULES.

I don’t want to be in a world where Richard Nixon could be elected. And re-elected. What were people thinking?

I don’t want to take my chances on 1960s and 1970s era roads in cars from that period. I’ll take today’s safer cars and trucks, and its better – if congested – roads.

I don’t want a world where the only salad dressing choices are French, Thousand Island, oil and vinegar, and if you’re really lucky, Russian. Give me my ranch or balsamic or Caesar or blue cheese or ….

I don’t want to live in a world without an Internet.

That would be a world without blogs. What would I do?

“Come mothers and fathers Throughout the land And don’t criticize What you don’t understand. Your sons and your daughters Are beyond your command. Your old road is rapidly agin’. Please get out of the new one If you can’t lend your hand For the times they are a-changin’.”
– The Times They Are A-Changin’, Bob Dylan

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

