Get In On the Ground – er, dirt – Floor


Now Playing: “Look Out for My Love,” Neil Young.
“There’s a lot to learn
For wastin’ time
There’s a heart that burns
There’s an open mind.”

A short one today as I continue to look for a real job. Of course, that’s a short-term goal. I’ve got plans, big plans, for the long term.

Scheme, I mean, Plan No. 1, is a longstanding goal. I want to set up my own think tank, dominated mainly,  if not totally, by my own thinking. I’ll call it the Institute for Frivolous Thought, and that’s what its fellows would do. We’d settle the big issues, such as, “If the Fonz was so cool (and he was), what was he doing hanging out with Potsie and Ralph Malph (not that Richie was any great prize, either)? That could require years and hundreds of thousands of dollars to consider adequately.

And before you pooh-pooh that notion, I once had a professional fundraiser swear to me that she was pretty sure she could find me public and private grants for such an enterprise. I know, what am I waiting for? After all, there are plenty of issues that need considering: Greatest UNC point guard of all time – the easy answer is Phil Ford, but cases can be made for Ty Lawson, Raymond Felton, Kenny Smith and even Jimmy Black (the PG for Dean Smith’s first championship team).

Musical Interlude: “Tangled Up In Blue,” by Bob Dylan. “But me I’m still on the road; Heading for another joint; We always did feel the same; We just saw it from a different point of view; Tangled up in Blue.”

That’s the long-range plan. But as I’ve started to use Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn, I’ve been forming the seeds of another venture: Anti-Social Media. It would be like Facebook, with a few major differences. It would most definitely have the much-discussed Dislike button for statuses instead of the “Like” one. And when you hit comment button, it would open a screen that would say, in flashing letters, “NO ONE CARES WHAT YOU THINK.” If nothing else, I think it would attract every person who has ever worked at a newspaper or magazine in this country. Or all the people I know anyway (I wonder what that says about me?).

The drawback here is finding a way to make money off it. Only a special kind of advertiser/sponor would want to reach the kind of people who’d be attracted to Anti-Social Media, but I’m sure that sponsor is out there. In the meantime, I need to find an angel investor (and there’s some irony there) or investors to provide my startup costs. If anyone’s interested I’ll be glad to set up a Paypal account. You never even have to meet me.

The big payout would come – and here’s some irony rolling back around again – when Jerkbook, as I’m dubbing it, has an initial public offering of stock. That’s right, we’ll know Anti-Social Media has succeeded when it goes … public.

Peace.

“Love was once a crazy dream; Now it’s my new evil scheme.
And I’m as happy as can be;
It’s the age-old story, How an evil boy meets an evil girl,
We’ve got love strong enough to rule the whole wide world;
We both maniacally laugh at all the same stuff;
I found my other half; Yes, I’ve got an evil love.”

“Evil Love,” with my sincere apologies to Karen, as sung by Dr. Doofenschmirtz to his unidentified girlfriend on “Phineas and Ferb”

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Get In On the Ground – er, dirt – Floor

  1. Pingback: Beauty is Skin Deep, Stupid Cuts to the Bone « Rants 'n Raves

  2. Pingback: Without Reservations « Rants 'n Raves

Leave a Reply

