The things I like, I really like


Now Playing: A weird version of “Questions,” by Buffalo Springfield.

If you were here yesterday, you learned that I hate bananas … and lots of other things. (http://wp.me/pQ8UD-S)

But there are plenty of things I like. And as I tell Karen, the things in this world that I like, I really like. (She’s one of them, of course, as are the kids and kats.)

I like my neighbors.

I like Lyle Lovett. And Cowboy Junkies. And Uncle Tupelo. And John Hiatt. And Tom Waits. And Austin Collins.

Interlude: “Angel from Montgomery,” by John Prine. “Make me an angel that flies from Montgomery; Make me a poster of an old rodeo; Just give me one thing that I can hold on to; To believe in this living is just a hard way to go.”

John Wayne Westerns. “The Searchers” is one of my all-time favorites, but I like “Big Jake,” “Rio Bravo,” “Rio Lobo” and a bunch of others, too.

Elvis. Nuff said.

People who aren’t phonies.

The noir movie, “Out of the Past,” starring Robert Mitchum (and Kirk Douglas).

The Great Gatsby and The Sun Also Rises.

Beethoven.

Hummus and guacamole. Curry. Bundt cake (That’s for you, Paul. I still love and miss you, my friend.)

Jeopardy. (For Final Jeopardy, we have a game in my house. We try to guess the question without knowing the answer. We call it Ultimate Jeopardy, and we’ve on occasion even won it.)

Spain. (Well, I’ve never been to Spain, but I kind of like the music.)

A good cup of coffee. And it doesn’t have to cost $5.

Dancing With the Stars. And American Idol. (You know, no one ever admits to watching these shows, but somehow they remain at the top of the ratings. Think some folks are being dishonest?)

“Let us go then, you and I, when the evening is spread out against the sky Like a patient etherized Upon a table.”

“‘Twas brillig and the slithy toves, did gyre and gimble in the wabe: All mimsy were the borogoves And the mome raths outgrabe.” (I’ve always wanted a vorpal sword.)

Dr. Strangelove. “Gentlemen, you can’t fight in here! This is the War Room.”

The Tar Heels. And honestly, it’s hard to me to understand why everyone doesn’t like them.

Going barefoot.

Pizza. Goat cheese. Bacon.

The Kurwood Derby.

The original Star Trek. Especially City on the Edge of Forever. (More on that another day.)

Led Zeppelin.

And soccer. (Go Arsenal.)

Reubens. The sandwich. Not the painter.

But I still hate bananas.

“I think Mr. Mellish is a traitor to this country because his views are different from the views of the President and others of his kind. Differences of opinion should be tolerated, but not when they’re too different. Then he becomes a subversive mother.” – Sharon Craig, “Bananas”

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The things I like, I really like

  1. Greg Mercer

    Love the blog Arthur! If you need a witness, I’ll confirm you’ve been a contrarian for a LONG time. Keep writing. Love the perspective.

    By the way, I hate the consistency of bananas. They’re not really a solid. Nor are they a liquid. The mealy consistency exists in some weird third dimension that is, no doubt, the breeding ground for a alien race plotting to take over the world so as to place cats at the top of the food chain.

  2. Thank you, my friend. Nice to have another banana-hater out there.

Leave a Reply

