Why I Won’t Catch a Wave


Now Playing: “Waiting Around to Die,” by the great Townes Van Zandt

“Sometimes I don’t know where this dirty road is taking me; Sometimes I can’t even see the reason why; I guess I keep on gamblin’, lots of booze and lots of ramblin’; It’s easier than just a-waitin’ ’round to die.”

On that depressing note (and trust me, that song gets even darker), I’ll start today’s rant. Which is likely to be short, I’ve got to get back to several projects …
I hate microwave ovens. OK, I’m a Luddite. Yes, they’re good for popcorn, soup, even lasagna, but for nearly everything else, MOs are less.
Don’t give me a hot dog cooked in the oven. Or a “baked” potato. Don’t warm my leftover steak or roast in one. And pizza? I’d rather eat it cold than flimsify it in a MO.
The key factor here, as it is in many things in life, is that faster isn’t always better.

So here’s to slow cooking, slow eating, slow kisses, slow dancing, Slow Rides (Take It Easy), sloe gin … you get the idea.

And here’s to slow, long weekends.

“Slow Train,” by Bob Dylan
“All that foreign oil controlling American soil
Look around you, it’s just bound to make you embarrassed
Sheiks walking around like kings, wearing fancy jewels and nose rings
Deciding America’s future from Amsterdam and to Paris
And there’s slow, slow train coming up around the bend.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

