Why I Do What I Do, or why I did what I did


Now playing: Duke vs. Virginia. “F*$) you.” _ Mike Krczhcdkljfsd

Actually, I’m listening to Richard Thompson’s fine version of Tempted. If you haven’t heard it, you should.

Back to today’s topic: Why I Do What I Do. By that, of course, I mean journalism. I’ve been a writer/editor for 30 years until getting laid off at the end of last year because of the poor economy. Nobody’s fault. It just happened.
Journalism is all I’ve ever wanted to do. I can’t even think of another career I considered. The reason is simple. I grew up a big comic book fan, and by far most of mine were Superman or Batman comics. Batman was rich, he didn’t really work. But Superman, in his Clark Kent guise, was a reporter. So I wanted to be one, too.
Journalism has been good to me. I had a lotta fun and a lotta satisfaction. In some small way, I feel like I helped folks. I never overestimated the kindness of readers. And I found my own Lois Lane.

Interlude: “The Harder They Come,” Jimmy Cliff.
“Well they tell me of a pie up in the sky, Waiting for me when I die, But between the day you’re born and when you die, They never seem to hear even your cry.”

But journalism isn’t what it used to be. I don’t know if it ever will be again. It’s time to start a new career. So after a lot of thought, I’ve made my decision. I’m going to be a superhero.

Look! Out on the couch! It’s a nerd. It’s a pain. It’s Super-fantastic-Arthurman.

Happy weekend!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Why I Do What I Do, or why I did what I did

  1. KARENPRGIRL

    If you can figure out how to make money at it, I’m in. Love Lois

  2. Oh, yeah. That’s right. The other part of having a job.

  3. Pingback: I wanna be a ninja scientist « Rants 'n Raves

  4. Pingback: Who Watches the Watchdogs? I do … « Who Watches the Watchdogs?

  5. Pingback: Who Watches the Watchdogs? I do … « Who Watches the Watchdogs?

Leave a Reply

